HomeСпортRelated VideosMore From: ProLiteGear

Best Lightweight Rain Jacket Reviews

920 ratings | 389438 views
article: http://www.prolitegear.com/site/best-lightweight-rain-jackets.html The team at ProLite Gear selected seven of the best lightweight rain jackets available in the market to perform in depth reviews on. View the article at the link above for all the videos and stats.
Category: Спорт
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (125)
joel750 (11 days ago)
The most BIASED review I have ever seen here YouTube. This dude focused on one particular jacket which is the mountain hardware but completely left out the rest of the other ones. What kind of a review is this!? Plus you WASTED 9 minutes of my life all thru your blabbering nonsense....
Gene Harrison (23 days ago)
Comparatible?
superten12 (26 days ago)
What a load of shite, im waiting on him giving reviews of all the jackets.
Sale (1 month ago)
What a stupid Video
Mart Sturmer (1 month ago)
damn, what a lot of talking about nothing.... get to the point!!!
Dan Mason (2 months ago)
What an absolute waste of 9 minutes and 11 seconds! there was no review. There was no systematic evaluation of the jackets. I'm sure 99% of the 375,426 views got duped into watching this because of the title. OK, I'm done, I've already wasted too much time on this video...
eezablade (2 months ago)
What’s a Wayne jacket?
Fatty Botchi (2 months ago)
Would have been nice to go over all of them, at least who makes them and how they did, rather then just talk about one of seven.
P W (2 months ago)
💤
Barry Diamond (3 months ago)
I stopped watching at 1:05, I could tell this review was going to be long winded and little information.
John Torrance (3 months ago)
Wow, what ??
Albert Pingul (3 months ago)
lol can you just show the difference of those jackets?
Clac Clackerson (4 months ago)
Shit review.
Ernesto dí Terríbílé (5 months ago)
Why only sub $250 we want to know The real best jacket. Not a cheap good jacket
Gilles Tessier (5 months ago)
Way too much of blablablabla, too long, too boring and just thumbs downable. There is nothing there interesting to anyone
BubbleTees (6 months ago)
9min video, 7min on one jacket?
senioritisisme (6 months ago)
Link in the discription is broken. This one works; https://www.prolitegear.com/best-lightweight-rain-jackets/
s.m. s.m. (8 months ago)
"Sorry, but the page you were trying to view does not exist."
Trent K (8 months ago)
Cut to the chase bud, nobody wants to hear you ramble on and on accept for you.
Jameson Cross (8 months ago)
Holy crap, this topic was good, but the presentation was AWFUL!
sealand000 (8 months ago)
There's no review
Chayavat Mokarakorn (9 months ago)
Almost, but not totally, useless. I did learn to look for molded zippers. But that's all.
Kevin T (9 months ago)
WTF?? Weren't you supposed to review rain jackets??
Carolyn1229 (9 months ago)
I’m more confused than ever. Link to the article did not work. Why didn’t you hold the jackets up and give prices and where to buy info? You talked a lot but didnt say much.
Wanda Willoughby (9 months ago)
Why didn’t you review zpack
Aaron Hartje (9 months ago)
Two of the biggest BS term(s) when it comes to rain jackets: air permeability/breathability. Sooner or later, you're wearing a freakin' garbage bag. Get the cheapest/lightest one you can that has a few basic features you may prefer.
DANNY Y (10 months ago)
bad vid
Paul Kelm (10 months ago)
Thanks for telling us all that you've gone through. Showing us would be even better. Thanks.
Steve Folsom (10 months ago)
got it. molded zipper good , coil zipper bad... (comparitable?) and who frigging cares how the fabric feels?
Delfie App (10 months ago)
you link is broken. should be: https://www.prolitegear.com/best-lightweight-rain-jackets/
jimbobh1965 (10 months ago)
Get on with it ffs
alexander laine (11 months ago)
2:03 "light weight wain jacket" LMFAO!
Charles Dunning (11 months ago)
Poorest review I've ever seen, accomplished nothing. Waste of my time.
Hardheaded Jarhead (11 months ago)
Zzzeeerrrooo information on any jacket lol this was straight shit! Why even upload it
Gordon Esborg (1 year ago)
You are lousy at reviews. Your stupid and boring. I learned nothing. Fagg!
Arcanineer (1 year ago)
I bought this camo one for $14.99 at Ross.....
Adventures with Frodo (1 year ago)
Waste ed video.
widiantika wijaya (1 year ago)
The page said does not existed guys.
Robert Dahl (1 year ago)
which would be good for a hot humid environment? I live in Alabama and trying to find something to wear in the hot humid summer months without dying
Cameron Patrick (1 year ago)
Kook central, nailed it
DEKO SPORTS UK LTD (1 year ago)
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Waterproof-rain-jacket-breathable-light-shower-wind-breaker-cycle-jacket-034-SOFT-034-/222571135136?ssPageName=STRK:MESE:IT Is any one tried rain jacket that is only in 10 pound
Alex Zinni (1 year ago)
You say "um" 15,000 times. You look like you could do better with some more practice.
Peter T (1 year ago)
Blah Blah Blah
Steven Sheehy (1 year ago)
Yes frog togg ul rain jacket is great for the price, good job.
Geez....Horrible!!!
Melissa Blanco (1 year ago)
Good job, I appreciate the links!
Glasgow (1 year ago)
big girl in front of a camera
Andrew Hochstrasser (1 year ago)
love your stuff! I'd like to see how KUIU gear stands up to your tests
acparish (1 year ago)
FUCK!!! Get on with it
dji zzah (1 year ago)
wtf? i didnt learn anything
Natalya Burkova (1 year ago)
the article is not there(((
rliuLY (1 year ago)
3 mins in and still no review..
Steve Klug (1 year ago)
i stopped after "light weight wain jacket".
sirvidia (1 year ago)
"breathability" is not necessarily connected to air permeability. it's usually connected to whether water vapour can pass through
ritesideofthefence 58 (1 year ago)
Im on minute 6:45 and still very little info. ?
Kris Jackson (1 year ago)
https://www.ebay.com/itm/272521415135
Joel Beaudoin (1 year ago)
what would you buy for pct? rain, hardshell, softshell, poncho? and what model
Leland F. (1 year ago)
7 jackets to show I didn't understand anything I fast forward and still no choice sorry it's bad!
Carlos (8 months ago)
yep, I just one name brand and affordable!!! (not over $300.00CDN )
Rod Boyd (1 year ago)
Agree with other comments sadly never got to the point so I learnt nothing
Russian SKS (2 years ago)
You talk way too much without getting to the point
connor nixon (2 years ago)
GET FUCKING ON WITH IT!
wsrush1985 (2 years ago)
At the time of this video I would have included the First Ascent BC-200 by Eddie Bauer. It is a 3 layer 11oz. shell that came in at MSRP of $199.
Not Cool Bro (2 years ago)
you take forever to get to the point
Richard Diorio (2 years ago)
Have you reviewed Frogg Toggs and Cuben fiber jackets?
G Henrickson (2 years ago)
Wow...this was polished and professional yet gave me zero information from which to decide. Needs to be re-shot with a quick look at EACH jacket and its strong/weak points. Maybe hold the jacket up and talk about it. Thanks.
Eric Hiatt (7 months ago)
G Henrickson I
Paul Jutte (1 year ago)
Exactly. I watched the whole thing just waiting. I honestly couldn’t tell you how he rambled for so long about NOTHING.
Katy B (1 year ago)
it's just meant to send you to his article.... which also can't be found.. big fail here! :(
CONAN-FA18 (2 years ago)
Which Mountain Hardware "Plasmic" jacket are you recommending? On their site, there is an "Alpen" and an "Ion" version. There is not one listed as "Superlight". Thanks.
Joe Cobos (2 years ago)
never got to the point. i stopped viewing it.
David Childers (2 years ago)
Get on with it! Geez!
Orlaith Irvine (2 years ago)
Too long getting to the point, use the jackets more when saying the pros and cons. Watching paint dry my friend, clicked off.......gosh
Noah Mccurley (2 years ago)
Just buy a good quality offshore sailing jacket it's waterproof, windproof and all the zippers and seams are sealed
G Henrickson (2 years ago)
And heavy...way more than 10 or 12 ounces.
David Patten (2 years ago)
and 100% non breathable, you'd be a sweaty mess and die if you did anything labour intensive.
Khalid Ahmed (2 years ago)
Guy I recommend to go to the pretty green website do a lot of nice coats
Pandemik Editor (2 years ago)
Get to the point. I didnt even catch what the number one jacket was.
Patrycja Tka (2 months ago)
Pandemik Editor has
Jim Coady (2 years ago)
If you can afford to spend $250 or more for a jacket, I would highly suggest you spend 100 bucks more and get an Arc'teryx and here's why... a bullet proof warranty. I bought one 6 or 7 years ago and used it heavily and paid 300-400. This year the seams came apart because I never washed it or put it in the dryer. I thought this maintenance was counter-intuitive, because after all, it is a rain coat and I wasn't aware that it needed to be washed. I took it back to the same store I purchased it from 2 weeks ago and was expecting them to repair it for a hefty fee. I didn't have a receipt and I had paid cash so there was no record of my purchase. However, I received a call a couple of days ago and they said they would give me a new jacket,same color and make, in a larger size, for no charge...I picked it up today and like it better than the original.
Jose Hernandez (2 years ago)
Good in depth review of light rain jackets. I would suggest that you edit your videos to include close ups of the products your reviewing. Including video clips of how the jackets zip up, the texture, etc. helps us the consumers, that search for video reviews to assist in purchasing such products, make an informed decision on which product to purchase. Aside from that, thanks for putting this video together.
MegaMissfitz (2 years ago)
Just make sure Ya wear protection (horny little snigger alert) 😜
METALfanUSMC (2 years ago)
Good review. I also share your opinion on the better YKK molded style zipper preference due to performance. Smoother, easier movement and much better durability every time.
Friedrich Gerring (2 years ago)
helmet compatibility?
rob01244 (2 years ago)
PS. Also not a fan of the Neo Shell... it sucks in water like a sponge, after two hikes the claimed holy grail of fabrics let me down, it weighed almost double the original post hike due to water retention, its worse than my wife... I love the Arcteryx Alpha SV, yeah I know its a beast and not a comparable jacket but its the daddy for v bad weather :)
Andrew Lawson (2 years ago)
rob01244 a
rob01244 (2 years ago)
I returned the Plasmic after one use - its far too fragile, it tore in two places after only very light rock abrasions, great review though :) the DryQ Elite fabric that MH produce is rock solid and very breathable... the Plasmic is more of a theme park log flume jacket!!
Sodium Hydroxide (2 years ago)
hey people, if you came here a don't have much money. I would recommend one of the carhartt rain coats. I have one and love it.
Davehiphop (2 years ago)
Hi where is the link?
Brian Fulda (2 years ago)
The jacket that they think is the best by far is the The Mountain Hardwear Super Light Plasmic. Explanation starts at 3:35. You're welcome.
Jacob Ferguson (2 months ago)
JFC thanks bro
Emidio R (10 months ago)
Brian Fulda d
Andy Rae (1 year ago)
Brian Fulda 4
Adam Austin (2 years ago)
Dude is long winded!!! dang!! let's argue about 2 damn ounces!!! not a big deal damn..if one that ways 16oz keeps me dryer than a 10 oz then I'll take the 16!!! that's why they make pot zips. The North Face Venture $99...beats all of these!!!
Kearress (2 years ago)
+Adam Austin Marmot Precip dude!
Sany Nava (3 years ago)
terrible review, this guy wanted to show off his know how more than the actual jacket themselves....waste of my time
Adam Rogers (3 years ago)
what are you mumbling about bro?
Gabe M (3 years ago)
extra 4 oz will break my back than i can take a leak and loose that 4oz
JT7868 (2 years ago)
+Gabe M It might when you're carrying all your camera gear and through hiking at AT, PCT, or any of these: http://www.backpacker.com/trips/wyoming/twelve-toughest-trails/ Saving 4 oz in one place, 2 oz in another, 3 oz in one more, etc really adds up and can make the difference between enjoying a difficult and long trail and not wanting to carry on.
Gabe M (3 years ago)
You think you can tell when the jacket is on you if it is 10 or 12 oz? lol
John Grytbakk (3 years ago)
Thank you for taking the time to be in-depth and covering the many different crucial points. ......so helpful in choosing the right gear.
Drewster100 (3 years ago)
Please be more succinct.
Shannon Darring (3 years ago)
Thank you!
Gare man (3 years ago)
wow......so wordy, get to the point, hold the jacket up, show it being tested outdoors. price limit sub $200, $300, etc would be nice.
Judiel Gonzalez (3 years ago)
I really don’t get it, I missed which one won? Never was presented to the camera, I never saw the jacket itself feature… what kind of review is this? The video overwhelm me with so much categories to judge a jacket that lost the real purpose of the same... which is the best raincoat for the money?
Bert Leong (10 months ago)
Judiel Gonzalez )
Gary Hunt (1 year ago)
Judiel Gonzalez The only truely waterproof jacket you want is Paramo , forget the rest mate
tc1uscg (3 years ago)
+Judiel Gonzalez Me too. I got lost the discussion about the zippers and totally missed which one was a favorite. I assume it was the Mountain Gear?
Leeroy Selfe (3 years ago)
I love cock in the morning a a a
D Storm (3 years ago)
I recommend testing rain jackets in the rain.
Carlyle Ellis (3 years ago)
Best review I have ever seen. Very in depth. This helps me so much. Thanks!
TainoPR 43 (7 months ago)
Carlyle Ellis - You’re being sarcastic I hope.
sirvidia (3 years ago)
very wordy
jguticon (3 years ago)
very good videos
Fotis Kakalidis (4 years ago)
Hey Craig,  Nice video..but why don't you review rain jackets from Marmot? (like the Artemis jkt or the Essence jkt?)
TainoPR 43 (7 months ago)
Holy shit...Even your replies are long winded. You missed your calling as an announcer, a narrator, a commentator.....
AZ Claimjumper (4 years ago)
I was wondering the same thing.  I personally felt like you devoted too much time trying to explain the different categories of Rainjackets, too much time on the Features of ONE jacket ; NO TIME of showing the jackets in actual rainy conditions
ProLiteGear (4 years ago)
Great question... I am trying to build the main article page as something that can evolve over time, since each of these individual product reviews will have a shelf life of a year or two. Over time I will update the article with newer products and perhaps update the main video once a year if the competitive landscape has changed a great deal. We can't afford to purchase and review every jacket on the market, so we try to limit the reviews to the stand out products in the category, and we admittedly skew toward the brands that we are dealers for at ProLite Gear. However, when a brand we are not dealers for has an break out product, or a subscriber asks us to review a product that we didn't include in the initial review and we think is a good candidate... we try to get one and review it. Example: The Arc'Teryx Squammish Hoody wind jacket. The Marmot Artemis is too heavy to include in this list, but I will see if I can pick up an Essence jacket to review. Thanks for the suggestion, and stay tuned for a review of the jacket!
John Abela (4 years ago)
Hey Craig, if there would not have been a $200 price limit placed on this category, would the eVENT/CF jackets from NW Alpine & ZPacks made it into the top list, or did the fabric perform so poorly that it could not have competed against these seven  you have listed? (ps: agree on the increasing use of the wind jacket use over the rain jacket by a lot of hikers these days - I am seeing it a happen a lot more from those who are asking me to review their gear lists - and I have been doing it myself for a few  years. The 1.6 ounce Montbell Tachyon is hard to beat for most day hikes and even weekend hikes when not encountering heavy rain)
Carol Loman (2 years ago)
John Abe
khayla almira (2 years ago)
ɷɷɷɷ You Wont Belive Guysss H0ww I Losttt Fat Fast In Justtt 3 Weeks Withhhh Thissss Weight Loss Diet Visitt : - https://t.co/HWXyWN7GBz
ProLiteGear (4 years ago)
hey John, I have no experience with the Zpacks jacket, but we used to sell the NW Alpine Eyebright jacket and I have a video review posted at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5DbboC_3KYHaving personally tried it along with the rest of the jackets, I would have included the Eyebright if it was less than $200, or even $250 just because of its very light weight.... but the Mountain Hardwear Super Light Plasmic is a much more refined effort.
TomsBackwoods (4 years ago)
Thanks Craig! Interested in the answer for John Abela to!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.