HomeСпортRelated VideosMore From: NY Gear Review

Patagonia Down Sweater Hoody Jacket Review

160 ratings | 34193 views
Another in depth look at a classic jacket from Patagonia, the Down Sweater Hoody. Click on the video for an in depth view of this popular jacket and for more information regarding Patagonia's initiative to use 100% Traceable Down Insulation. WARNING: This video does contain some graphic images https://www.instagram.com/nygearreview/
Category: Спорт
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (57)
Asher McDougall (1 year ago)
I'm 6 3' and 185 lbs and you just saved my life.
NY Gear Review (1 year ago)
Asher McDougall hahahaha happy to help!
Chris Sétian (19 days ago)
Does it keep you warm in snowy weather ?
NY Gear Review (18 days ago)
Definitely meant for snowy weather and cold temperatures so long as the down isn't getting wet from the precipitation.
LANo (21 days ago)
Wow, just bought my first Patagonia 800 fill jacket. So glad I did after seeing how those geese were treated.
ulas o (25 days ago)
good work, I hope you keep filming
NY Gear Review (25 days ago)
Thanks for the kind words!
Martin Hayward (1 month ago)
Outdoor freaks, leave geese the fuck alone
VIPUL AGRAWAL (1 month ago)
What are your opinion on Rab Microlight Alpine Down Jacket Hoody in comparison which Patagonia? Which one is best.
NY Gear Review (1 month ago)
I hate to admit I don't know much about the Rab microlight! Will hopefully do a review in the near future
Derick S (2 months ago)
Is this jacket fine for NYC fall/early winter temps? Is it too much warmth and looks for NYC casual use?
NY Gear Review (2 months ago)
This jacket is a great pick for NYC fall and early winter. Has a great capacity for layering and definitely has a more stylish look when compared with other down insulators.
Bue Ca (3 months ago)
I'm trying to decide between getting a down jacket (Fitz Roy or Sweater Jacket) and a synthetic (hyper puff). I'm assuming the down is warmer?
NY Gear Review (2 months ago)
Hey there! Fitz Roy and Hyper Puff will be a warmer jacket intended for cold climates while the sweater hoody is a little more versatile in it's application. Of those three jackets I would say the down is the least warm. Hope that helps
Nah E (3 months ago)
Do you think that this will keep me warm in -25˚C (-13˚F) with a hoodie under the jacket
NY Gear Review (3 months ago)
I think you'll need something more substantial for those kinds of temps. Something with more down and more bulk. Like the Hyper Puff or a parka.
Việt Anh Nguyễn (3 months ago)
Hey bro. I just think about this one and cerium LT, TNF Summit L3 down hoody. any suggestion pls! Which one is more warm? Thank you
EnthusiasticToby (3 months ago)
Heading to New York this winter, I presume it's gonna be cold. Do you think this jacket will be warm enough? Also thinking of getting the sweater version without hood, would that be a rookie error? Cheers! Great video
EnthusiasticToby (3 months ago)
NY Gear Review cheers for the reply and advice man! Great review by the way!
NY Gear Review (3 months ago)
Excellent question my dude. This jacket will be a great insulator, but be prepared to use layers underneath once it dips below freezing. Hood or no hood is up to you buddy. So long as you have a hat to keep your noggin warm!
iamtimchung (9 months ago)
Much difference between this jacket and the hi loft one?
NY Gear Review (9 months ago)
Great question! In appearance, there isn't too much different aside from hood design and baffle pattern. However, the Hi-Loft is significantly warmer. I wouldn't wear that jacket in temperatures much warmer than freezing. While the down sweater hoody has a bit more versatility. It's an excellent jacket for shoulder seasons (Spring/Fall) and performs well in freezing temperatures, so long as you layer up. Hope that helps!
Thomas Kilpatrick (9 months ago)
i understand the concept of ripstop, but is this a super tough jacket? In the uk this is £200 - not cheap, and i want it to last a very very long time!
Thomas Kilpatrick (9 months ago)
cheers guys thanks heaps!
NY Gear Review (9 months ago)
It's manufactured to be a lightweight down jacket and one unfortunate quality about lightweight materials is that they tend to be more delicate. I haven't had any tears or rips in mine however a small snag would probably be enough to make a tear. If you're looking for something a little more durable/heavy we recommend looking at the Windsweep Insulated Jacket.
Nachanok Boonpraman (10 months ago)
What's the color for the jacket in this video?
NY Gear Review (8 months ago)
Sorry for the late reply but the jacket is a past season color called Legend Green. Hope that helps
Constantin Schifferer (10 months ago)
Great review! I m 188cm and 80kg and this jacket fits perfect (sorry for eu sizes) and no problem to minus five degrees. But is the smell usually for this jacket? it smells a little bit like a wet dog after wearing it once for 10mins... I thought it could be the down but its brand new. Return?
NY Gear Review (10 months ago)
Hmmm... not sure what it could be. We haven't had that experience with any of our jackets.
Mothy (10 months ago)
How do they get the down if the birds are not live plucked or killed?
NY Gear Review (10 months ago)
That's a very good question. Generally, the down is either recycled from donated blankets and clothing or taken, after death, from birds who have been killed by other companies for their meat. You can watch a video about recycled down from Patagonia here https://youtu.be/ZFIFxy19CFo
Raider m (11 months ago)
What fleece would work with an nano puff for freezing temp ? R2?? Or would I need a down jacket
Fron Villa (8 months ago)
Wool + Down= Warm!
NY Gear Review (11 months ago)
Layering is always a good option. Especially, if you're not trying to spend a lot on a heavy down jacket, and have enough thinner layers to do the job. It all depends on what you're doing also. If you're going to be active in the cold then a fleece and the Nano Puff should be enough. But if you're just commuting and not raising your heart rate then you might consider a few more layers. We think that the R2 and the Nano Puff coupled with a wool shirt or sweater should definitely get the job done. Thanks for the great question!
Raider m (11 months ago)
Hi can you tell me base layer/fleece to wear with the Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Jacket for sub freezing temperatures
Raider m (11 months ago)
Thank you for replying I'm will be staying the patagonia brand
NY Gear Review (11 months ago)
Great question! We love the R1 and R3 hoody from Patagonia. We like other options from other companies but these are hands down the best we've used.
Luke Daniel (11 months ago)
Got the right size on this one!
NY Gear Review (11 months ago)
Luke Daniel hahaha that’s always a relief
Jacob Tait-Bailey (11 months ago)
Fantastic channel - really rate your reviews so thank you. Was hoping you might be able to advise on how much bigger a large is? I'm 6'0 but very similar build to you - you mentioned in either this video or the high loft video about needing a bigger size to layer underneath, have you tried the bigger size? Hard to quantify of course, but did it look silly being that much bigger on you or was the fit okay? Able to wear with and without layers comfortably?
NY Gear Review (11 months ago)
Hey Jacob! Great question. I like the fit of the medium for the Hi-Loft but it really depends on your build and preference. If you're a slim guy then we think the medium will be a good fit. Patagonia tends to run a little big, especially in the Hi-Loft. The large had a good amount of extra material in the torso, which I didn't like. However, if I knew I was always going to be wearing layers with the jacket I would size up for a large. Hope that helps! Let us know if you need anything else or have any other questions.
Woodsmans Finest (11 months ago)
Thank you so much for getting those images out... I really think people gotta see that! Researching right now about merino wool as well! Great reviews! Have helped me a lot! cheers
NY Gear Review (11 months ago)
Really appreciate the comment, Woodsmans Finest. Thanks for being a supporter and we'll do our best to keep the reviews coming.
Greg Ai (11 months ago)
Really needs a field test to rate temperature...
Jesse K (1 year ago)
No birds are being killed? Yes, in the sense that they are already being slaughtered for meat. But all of the down does come from slaughterhouses, I believe. Still, it's much more humane than live plucking.
NY Gear Review (1 year ago)
You're absolutely right. The birds aren't being killed for their down, but instead for their meat. I agree that it's more humane than live-plucking. In addition, some companies use recycled down from old comforters and pillows. Thanks so much for commenting and sharing information.
Jesse K (1 year ago)
Nice review by the way! I've just been looking a lot into down sourcing and was confused by that statement.
Ale Bi (1 year ago)
What are the others jackets similar to this that do you suggest? Great work. Keep on!
NY Gear Review (1 year ago)
Hey Michael, great question! I don't have any experience with this jacket, and so the following is all based on knowledge of the product and not personal use. The Cerium LT is a very lightweight jacket, and naturally has lightweight down insulation(using less down but with larger plumes). I don't believe the Cerium should be used as a standalone winter jacket. It simply doesn't have enough insulation to keep the extreme temperatures out. I imagine this jacket does well until about 32 degrees fahrenheit, and then you'll need to layer up. I believe the Thorium by Arc'teryx is their more serious winter down jacket option. Hope that helps!
Michael Elliot (1 year ago)
Can the Cirium LT be used as a Standalone jacket as well as insulation? Or is it not quite warm enough?
James Mair (1 year ago)
Not live plucked... or killed?
Ale Bi (1 year ago)
NY Gear Review thank you so much!
NY Gear Review (1 year ago)
Thanks so much for commenting! The other jackets I mention in the video, that fall into a similar category and have similar intended uses, are the Arc'teryx Cerium LT and the Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer. Both are renowned for their weight and warmth retention. Let me know if you have any other questions I can help with. I'd be more than happy to get into a little more detail on both those jackets if needed.
chioue (1 year ago)
How does the warmth of the Micro Puff compare to the Down Hoody?
NY Gear Review (1 year ago)
I'm under the impression that Patagonia is going to begin phasing out the Ultralight Down Hoody. Currently, the Micro Puff performs just as well as that jacket, and is $50 less. I prefer most features on the Micro Puff in comparison, especially the hood. In addition, the baffle construction on the Ultralight Hoody is not the best at retaining heat. The baffles alternate in sizing, and because of this it struggles to retain warmth as effectively as some of the other jackets in that category. Hope that helps!
chioue (1 year ago)
NY Gear Review thanks for the quick reply! Where do you think the Ultralight Down Hoody falls on the spectrum of warmth? I’ll look out for your future videos!
NY Gear Review (1 year ago)
Great question. The Micro Puff isn't going to be quite as warm as the Down Sweater Hoody. The Micro Puff is going to perform best in temperatures above freezing. While the Down Sweater Hoody will be better at handling those sub freezing temps(especially with layering). If you're looking for a jacket that can handle harsher climates, without needing extensive layering underneath, look out for my review of the Patagonia Hi-Loft Down Jacket coming soon. Thanks for reaching out and please let me know if you have any other questions!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.